Catholic School Girl

(This is another in my Sexually Titled Posts experiment)

cokeEvery year I give up Coke for Lent. 

No I’m not Catholic.

Well, I guess I am, but I don’t go to church of believe in most of the things that it takes to be considered a “catholic.”  But whenever anyone asks me, that’s what I say.  It’s quicker than explaining what I really think.

How much do I love Coke?
This is my Coke machine:
This is my fountain Coke dispenser:

This is me gettin’ it on with a Coke bottle:

The reason I give up things is because I believe you shouldn’t have everything you want all the time.  I’ve been pretty lucky: I have a house and a wife and a dog and a job that I love and I work hours that allow me to draw a comic.  I think that sometimes you have to force yourself to appreciate the things that you have.  The best way to do that is to have them taken away.

Since I enjoy my house, my wife, my dog, and my job so much, I don’t want them taken away.  I do, however, want to be challenged to appreciate them more.  And so, I give up Coke every year.

Except this year it wasn’t that hard.  I’ve given it up every year since I was 16 and it’s always been a struggle.  In every gas station I go to, in every grocery store I’m in, I want a Coke.  But this year I don’t.  I give it up on Ash Wednesday and never looked back.  I never even had a craving.

Since Lent is not doing what it’s supposed to be doing, I’ve decided to change it up.  I traded Coke for sweets.

I never realized how much shit I eat on a daily basis.  I was hungry for dinner at 4:30 today because I normally eat my body weight in cookies and granola bars by around three o’clock.  That tides me over ‘till about 6:30 when The Wife gets home and we eat. 

I think this will be a struggle. 

Not like “dog giving up humping random dogs” hard, but still…

It’ll be tough.

Leave a comment