Nervous About Numbers

I’ve just had the oddest conversation.

A (sort of) agent contacted me about Tiny Life. He said that he can talk to book stores that Diamond can’t touch. I thought that it would be a good opportunity to sell the book to a few other stores that wouldn’t normally see a book like Tiny Life. He gave me all the specs of his business and it seemed pretty reasonable, so I took him up on it (or, I guess, will take him up on it; I haven’t signed anything yet).

The thing that’s freaking me out is the numbers he’s talking about. He said he can probably sell about 30 books for me. That’s pretty good considering my Assistant to the Traveling Secretary can barely get a half-dozen sold. He also said that Diamond probably wouldn’t be able to push more than about 300 copies.

On the left are my expected orders.  On the right will be my actual orders.

On the left are my expected orders. On the right will be my actual orders.

This puts me in a bit of a tough spot because Diamond is expecting something like 1500 copies (at least that is what was inferred).

At 300 copies, I’ll be making something like $600 on this project. I was hoping to make at least enough to break even with Colacitti.

Damn you (sort of) agent. Now I’m all nervous.

Leave a comment