Review the First

I’ve already received several reviews on Tiny Life (mostly from retailers, but some from very important people like my mom and The Wife).  Most of them have been pretty mediocre.  Many of the reviews have consisted of nothing more than, “You rock!” or “Did you draw this?” 

So instead of including every review just to prove to people that Tiny Life is actually read, I’m only going to put a few on here.  A few good ones.  A few that compare Tiny Life to other works.  A few that actually have something to say.

  And no, unlike a lot of other guys starting out, I’m not just including the good ones.  I want to give you, the Awesome Reader, a rounded perspective.  I want to give you a good idea of what the book as about.  Aside from actually reading it, the best way to do that is to include all types of review.

And my rebuttal.

This first review comes from John Arnold at Comicopolis in Santa Cruz, CA:

Hello Nick,

John Arnold here, writing from Comicopolis in Santa Cruz, CA. You have conversed through email with my business partner, Troy, prior to this. I wanted to take this opportunity to weigh in with my thoughts on Tiny Life.

First off, I will let you know that, in addition to being a shop owner and a reader of comics for over 30 years, I am also a writer. I have just recently signed a contract with Top Shelf to publish an original Graphic Novel, due out in early 2009. I’ve been writing for many years, and writing specifically in comic script form for about 7 years. I tell you all this so you will have a better idea of where my comments are coming from.

So, with all that said…I think you have a great story here. The concept is unique, the story well thought out. You have obviously put much time and effort into developing an epic tale, and I can certainly appreciate that. I would absolutely encourage you in continuing to develop and write this story. I will caution you a bit, though. It has been my experience, both in pitching story ideas to publishers (I have had the pleasure of meeting with editors from Dark Horse, Oni, Image, Boom, and IDW, just to name a few), and in running a retail establishment, that the best way to get book off the ground, or even noticed, at this level (meaning the new, relatively unknown artist) is to write a short (4-6 issue) contained story. Not that this needs to be all the tale encompasses, but editors and retailers alike are much more likely to take interest in a book if that book is pitched as a complete tale, not necessarily dependent upon them making future commitments. The happy and desired result, of course, is that the book does well for all concerned, and future volumes are produced. Does this make sense?

Again, this all comes from my, admittedly, limited experience. But, I do speak from some experience. I have developed and scripted many grand and epically sweeping stories, intended to go on for dozens, perhaps hundreds, of issues, and almost always I have been met with one comment: ‘Reduce the meat of your tale to a single six issue graphic novel. If we like it, we’ll publish. If it sells well, you can do more’.

The unfortunate, and fortunate, fact is, this is a business. And, even in the realm of published works, as a retailer, I see many great stories and talents go unnoticed by the reading public. It’s a tricky and fickle world, the world of comics. But again, I do not want to be discouraging, and I sincerely believe you have real talent and good story to tell. And you should. The hope is that real talent will eventually be recognized. But, I would urge you to consider the main point of this; Try to develop and pitch a smaller, contained tale. Something that gives the reader a complete story, but also leaves open the larger story you will eventually tell.

Just my opinion. Take it for what you will.

I do wish you all the luck in the world and, as a retailer, will do what I can do to promote and sell your work. I know you had discussed retailer incentives with my partner. Though they are appreciated, I agree with his primary stance…the best selling point is a quality book. That should be your first concern. And, from what I have seen, you are achieving that.

Thanks again for contacting us, Nick. I appreciate hearing from new creators. Best of luck to you!

Sincerely,

John Arnold

  Comicopolis

  829 Front St.

  Santa Cruz, Ca. 95060

  phone: (831) 427-1929

  webmaster@comicopolisonline.com

Thanks for all the compliments, John.  And congratulations on your endeavors (I love Top Shelf)!

I think, when you talk about how large Tiny Life is, you’re referring to the letter that accompanied the preview links.  This first novel, l(a, is only 104 pages long.  It’s a five-issue story arc.  Although the series itself is set for around 3000 pages (and now that I look at it again, it might be closer to 2000 or 2500, depending on how much I can cram onto a page), there are 10 books in the series with varying lengths. 

I think your concern is well-founded; I know I often won’t concern myself with a large series unless I know it’s worth my time.  I imagine that’s how publishers, editors, and retailers think too.

Fortunately for me, since Sliver ltd. is my company, I only have to deal with the latter of the three.  Fortunately for me, of the three, the latter is the only one whose opinion matters.

Thanks for your time and critique. 

One Response to “Review the First”

  1. sybilance Says:

    I’m sick of artist only putting up good reviews
    Good job! 🙂

Leave a comment