Facebook is Just Email… and Vice Versa

I didn’t think I’d be ahead of the curve on this one (I’m usually behind when it comes to this type of thing), but I was right.  Facebook is just email.  And now email is trying to be Facebook.

This is my Hotmail home screen.  It used to say, "You have two messages!"  Now it says this.

This is my Hotmail home screen. It used to say, "You have two messages!" Now it says all this.

One of the (few) advantages of social networking sites is that you can let everyone know what’s going on without actually sending everyone an email.  You can also see what’s happening with everyone without actually receiving an email.  Both Yahoo and MSN are trying to faze this in to their webmail accounts. 

Now when I log on to my Yahoo or Hotmail account, I have a dozen “suggestions” on how I can make my “experience” better. 

I don’t need suggestions.  I’m not having an experience.  I just want to see if I won that Buddy Christ toaster oven on eBay.

What is it about this country?  We take a good idea and run it into the damn ground until no one can stand it.  It’s not good enough that we have one really good Coke.  We also have generally crappier Pepsi and RC and Faygo and Shasta and Red Rock and Ritz.  It’s not good enough that we have one really good iPod.  We also have the generally crappier Zune and Walkman and Zen and goGear and Sensa.  It’s not good enough we have Facebook.  We also have the generally crappier MySpace and Classmates and myYearboook and now Yahoo and MSN.  I don’t understand why we can’t leave well enough alone.  Why we can’t let the big dog win. 

Of course, I guess if we did, Marvel would be the only comic company in America.  So I guess competition is a good thing.

Leave a comment