Who Wants to be a Publisher?

diamondlogoI received word today (although I’ve heard rumblings about it from other publishers) that Diamond won’t distribute anything if they don’t feel they can make $2500 on it.  This pretty much takes me out of the running for left unless I can create some sort serious word-of-mouth buzz from l(a.  I think Diamond only made about $1000 (maybe $1500) from the initial run of the last book.

This is the problem with having a series of comic novels rather than a monthly series of comic books.  I have no advertisement when the next one comes out; I have no fan base.  The only people that will buy my next book are the people who happen to walk into a comic store that happens to be carrying and they happen to have a little extra money in their pocket and they happen to be feeling adventurous with it. 

So what’s a girl to do?

Do you think this would look good on the cover?

Do you think this would look good on the cover?

I think I might have to start shopping around for publishers.  People (and Diamond) are much more likely to buy Tiny Life: left from Image or Top Shelf or Dark Horse than they are to buy it from Sliver ltd.

That is, unless somehow I can sell dozens of awesome comic titles between now and then!

So send your ideas to me at nickjones@sliverltd.com and we’ll beat em!

It’ll be like Alan Moore’s America’s Best Comics line but without the geuius!

Leave a comment