Sliver and the Power of Zero

It’s getting to the point where I actually have to start keeping some files.

See, I’m of the mind that one should never worry about money.  I don’t balance a checkbook, I don’t have massive debt, and I don’t buy things that I don’t need.  Basically, I spend what I believe I can cover.  I do the approximate math in my head, and if my debt is even close to my take-home pay, I don’t spend any money.  It’s a good way to live because every once in a while, you forget that you’re “going without” a little bit each month and after a season goes by, suddenly you have a bit of money you never intended to save.

I planned on doing something like that with Sliver ltd. as well.  I planned on simply having a ballpark figure of Sliver assets in my head and hopefully, after some time went by, I would suddenly be sitting on a pile of cash.  That’s not how it works, though (especially when there’s a limit on how much is actually brought into the business).

I always told myself that I would spend $5000 on this endeavor.  If I ever ran out of cash, I would stop doing the book. 

zeroSo, when cash starts to get close to where the business induces a self-imposed bankruptcy, it’s important to start looking at the numbers.  After crunching the numbers, I’ve come to realize that I don’t believe Diamond has paid me for the books yet (although, to be perfectly fair, it has been less than a month, so they still have time.  I was just thinking that they already paid me, which gave me a lot more money in my head).

Since I sold a couple hundred through them, it puts a bit of a dent in the comic’s pocketbook.  If it had pockets and a book where it keeps its money (although, having a pocketbook would either make it a girl-comic or a possibly-gay-comic). 

I should probably call them.  Sliver ltd. might be much closer to zero than I thought.

Leave a comment