Bad Reviews

simpsonsAs anyone who knows me understands, I am a HUGE The Simpsons fan.  I have all eleven seasons currently available on DVD, I watched the movie the day it came out, I went all the way to Florida just to ride the used-to-be-Back-to-the-Future (also a big fan) but-is-now-The-Simpsons-Ride.  I even watch all the commentary.

As a side-note, would producers of ALL television shows that are now on DVD insist that each episode have some sort of commentary?  Please?  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watch Newsradio or 30 Rock or – God please spare me when I say this – even Full House and wanted to know what certain people were thinking when this or that joke aired or when this or that episode was not well-received. 

gibsonAnyway, on the commentary of the newest season, the first episode features Mel Gibson watching a screening of his remake of Mr. Smith Goes to Washington.  Everyone says it was good except Homer.  Gibson listens to Homer and hilarity ensues.  However, when I was watching the commentary, one of the writers (I think it was Al Jean, but I’m probably wrong), said something like, “That’s how it is at screenings.  You want everyone to like it so you take all suggestions.  I remember a dozen times during the making of The Simpsons Movie where we argued for hours about changing something because one guy in Utah didn’t like it.”

I’m the same way.

I’ve gotten about a dozen reviews so far and all but one have been very positive.  All I can do is concentrate on that one.  “What can I do to please that one guy!”

Please, no gay jokes.

Honestly, I shouldn’t care.  The one and only reason for me to publish Tiny Life is to get it out of my head (finally).  Some dude some place isn’t going to change that.

Of course, a lot of his comments are unfounded.  He doesn’t see the whole story yet so his comments of it being “too verbose” or of “nothing happening” don’t really hold up.  A lot of things actually happen in this book, but you won’t understand that for another three volumes (or so).  There are also some comments on Colacitti’s art; frankly, I think Nicolas Colacitti is going to kick a lot of ass in the comic world if I ever let him up for air.  Also, I’ve heard that I’m too cocky with Tiny Life.  That’s because I’m sick of hearing creators say, “Thanks for supporting my little book here.  It’s not the greatest, but tell your friends!”  Dammit, mine is the greatest because it is the best that I can do and it is the most original that I could think of.

See, I feel better already.

Amazing how much my self-esteem rises after I practice some delusional justification.

Leave a comment